Starbucks’ New Red Cup: A (hopefully) new perspective on the seasonal situation

As I was scrolling through Facebook the other day, I noticed something on a friend’s page I wasn’t aware was an issue, then I noticed it again on another page, and another, and another, each different responses to the same issue. If you don’t drink coffee, or are some sort of super-hipster that doesn’t drink Starbucks, you may not know about the debacle surrounding Starbuck’s new design, or lack thereof, on their “holiday” cups.

Essentially the issue is that Starbucks, a company who, in previous years, has placed special little holiday designs on their seasonal cups, has taken away the designs and in now giving out plain red cups as the “simplistic” design for this year. I’ve read some articles, from both sides of the issue, and it saddens me to see how many people are getting upset, hurt, or are personally offended over this issue as well as how many people are upsetting and hurting others. Let me begin by stating my opinion and then you can keep reading with this knowledge.

I believe that Starbucks is a company that is allowed to make their own decisions on what they can or cannot sell. That being said, it saddens me to see the once fun and wintery designs now removed and replaced with nothing more than a plain red backdrop and the ever present green siren logo.

Now that I’ve got my opinion out there, we can move on. Some people believe that this so-called “statement” by Starbucks is a “direct attack on Christianity”. People claiming things such as Starbucks “taking the ‘Christ’ out of ‘Christmas’” and even spurring movements such as #MerryChristmasStarbucks where the customer, when asked his or her name, would say “Merry Christmas” forcing the barista behind the counter to write the phrase on the cup. They also go as far as to say that if you don’t protest these cups, you “aren’t a real Christian”. It all seems a little too extreme if you ask me. However, the opposing side, is not responding in a peaceful way either, which can be just as hurtful.

Those on the other side of this argument are posting/saying/writing mean/rude comments about Christians and Christianity in general. It’s almost as if this situation sparked a fire of Christian hate. But I know that a bomb isn’t created when the wick is lit, nobody just snaps, implying that hate has been building up for some time and people are only now venting their frustrations, their hate, but please allow me to take it back into perspective.

We are fighting, hurting, and demeaning each other over what? The color of cups? The design on cups, a design which has left its Christmas tradition long ago? It just doesn’t make sense to me. I mean, sure, I’m upset that there isn’t really a fun design this year, but do I, as Christian, take personal offense from this? Do I take this as Starbucks wanting to “wage war” with Christians and religion in general? Absolutely not.

Starbucks is a big company and they can make their own decisions without having ulterior motives. Sure, I would have liked to see a nice snowflake or a snowman on my cup, but that’s not my call. I’m still going to get my favorite Christmas drink when I can.

What I am trying to say here is that sometimes people’s actions are nothing more than actions. Starbucks surely didn’t mean any offense when they decided to rid their red cups of design, but people are taking it way out of proportion. Sorry if you were expecting this long philosophical thing about life and it’s inner workings, but this week, I wanted to actually respond to an issue in modern culture.

I don’t know where you stand on this topic but, if you’re still making up your mind, remember that sometimes a red cup is nothing more than a red cup.

3 thoughts on “Starbucks’ New Red Cup: A (hopefully) new perspective on the seasonal situation

  1. I think you said exactly what needed to be said in your closing paragraph: “I don’t know where you stand on this topic but, if you’re still making up your mind, remember that sometimes a red cup is nothing more than a red cup.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Follow Friday – NaBloPoMo | from the sticks to the bricks and back again

  3. Pingback: Follow Friday – Starbucks | from the sticks to the bricks and back again

Leave a Reply

