Perfection (Part 2): Why It Sucks and What It Is.

“Please don’t you ever feel like you’re less than perfect, you are perfect to me.”

Lyrics from the song “Perfect” by P!nk, allow us to forget our insecurities and believe that we are perfect the way we are. It is truly an inspiring song with a beautiful message (a link to the video below)

Last week I talked about why we try to be perfect, because people don’t want to be judged by others. It was a topic that I felt difficult to write because I tried to stay away from the dangers of being a perfectionist and write more about how we can, as a people, be more accepting of others.

Today I get the chance to talk about something amazing, how our imperfections make us beautiful.

There is such a struggle in the world to be what others view as perfect: to some that’s a size 0, to others perfection looks like straight A’s and a 4.5 GPA (however that’s possible). There are so many standard of perfection, we can’t live up to them all and if we were to try, we would kill ourselves in the process.

I’m going to be honest with you all, as I always am, and tell you than I am not perfect (surprise surprise). In fact, I’m far from what I perceive to be perfection, and to me that looks toward the more academic side. I will admit that I have struggled, as you have read if you’ve been following my posts. And, honestly, I still struggle with the thought of being perfect, but I have to realize that perfection is an unattainable goal.

When we strive to be perfect, we will do nothing but fall short of our extremely high standards.

So where does this dismal truth leave us? What does it mean? It means that we don’t have to strive for unrealistic standards. I’ve realized that being imperfect isn’t something we need to be ashamed of, but rather something that we need to embrace.

A few years ago American Eagle did a promotion called “I’mperfect” with the tagline “my imperfections make the perfect me”. Because I was working there at the time, I had to wear this shirt with that tagline every single shift and, when I quit, I was able to take the shirt home to use as a pajama shirt.

Here’s the promo video if you weren’t able to see it on T.V.

 

Every night I was able to see that saying in the mirror and it really encouraged me and reminded me of how I don’t need to strive for perfection because I am perfect just the way I am. We all, just the way we are, are perfect unique, human beings and no one else can be truly you or ever replace you.

So the next time you feel less than perfect, like you’ll never be enough, just remember that you are enough, you are amazing, you are perfect because of your imperfections.

Thank you everyone for reading these posts and I hope you have an amazing weekend. Be safe and remember to Always Respond!

-blake lonero

p.s. Here’s the video I promised!

P!nk-Perfect Clean Lyric Video

 

 

Leave a Reply

