I’m Fully and Utterly Sick (and Tired)

I’m sick.

Except not the type of sick one would expect. I’m not physically ill (not anymore at least) and as far as mentally, I believe I’m perfectly okay.

I’m sick of what is commonly known as “shaming”.

For those of you who are not aware, “shaming” is a term that is often tacked onto an adjective (i.e. gender, sexual orientation, race) in order to harm or hurt a member of that group. Some common examples found in daily life are women-shaming (shaming women for their gender and degrading them because of it based on stereotypes) and man-shaming (the same thing), gay-shaming (making fun of those in the LGBT community) and straight-shaming, etc.

Before someone thinks that there is no such thing as “man-shaming” or “straight-shaming”, I want you to know that there is very much such a thing. I, myself have been a victim of man-shaming and it was very upsetting and harmful to my own view of myself. To spare you all the gory details, I’ll say that one of my professors openly told us that all men are stupid and inferior because they physically have smaller brains than women. Now first, even if there is biological proof of the brain size difference, no teacher should openly interpret the findings this way. Second, if this is not a blatant way of “shaming” men, then I don’t know what is. “Shaming” comes in many different shapes and sizes and anyone, yes anyone, can be a victim.

You see I am sick of all this shaming because there is no way that we, as a people, can learn to fully love and accept everyone if we keep throwing shame on people.

So I’m sick. I’m so sick.

I’m sick of woman-shaming and man-shaming, I’m sick of gay-shaming and straight-shaming. I’m tired of African American-shaming, Caucasian-shaming, Asian American-shaming, Pacific Islander-shaming, Hispanic-shaming, Arab American-shaming and any other race-shaming. I am completely tired of overweight-shaming and underweight-shaming (including every type of shaming in-between). Rich-shaming and poverty-shaming, mental health-shaming, grade-shaming, any type of shaming, it needs to stop. We all bleed the same and we all put our pants on one leg at a time.

I can’t stand any type of shaming and my wish is that we can stop this before it grows in popularity.

So I hope I didn’t scare you by saying that I am sick, but in reality I am sick. I am sick and tired of people hurting other people, of people not showing the love that needs to be spread throughout the world.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this. My hope is that, the next time someone wants to “shame” someone for the group that they are in, that we can all think twice and really recognize the power our words can have.

Thank you again and I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Stay safe and remember to alwaysrespond.

-blake lonero

P.S. I will NOT be posting next week, but I truly hope that you can find something to respond to during our short break.

Leave a Reply

